Saturday, October 5, 2013

Discover the "Let Me Go" series!

Start off this gritty New Adult series with the first book, "Let Me Go," available for $2.99. The second book, "Captured Again," is soon to be released; use the links below to sign up for updates from author L.L. Akers!

Let Me Go, by L.L. Akers

"Highly recommended! This book is full of emotions- fear, loneliness, regrets, sorrow, and love. It shows how women can overcome severe adversities through courage, determination and support from those who care. I recommend this book not only for women, but men also can gain an insight into the emotional upheaval that some women endure." -- Amazon reviewer

Approx. 81,000 words. Fiction. Uncover the dark side of New Adult. A Coming of Age story. This book contains graphic material not intended for readers under the age of 17.

A Scarlet dragonfly tattoo-meant to be a beautiful family mark of freedom, instead becomes a prophetic brand for those who wear it, to forever be suffering. Wounded and broken, twin sisters, Gabriella and Olivia, find themselves flittering back into the cycle of abuse that relentlessly clings to their family, a reality they can never seem to escape.

Deeply evocative, Let Me Go is a coming-of-age story: the struggles of one mother and her daughters trying to survive life--marred by abuse and misplaced blame--and their need to reach peace, forgiveness, and reconciliation.

One mother and her daughters, bound by blood--torn apart by abuse. They begin their lives intertwined but are forced to fight for their survivals separately, struggling to hide their fear and shame from each other and the world.

One of these women finds herself trapped--alone--and she battles to survive in the terrifying darkness. With long hours of nothing to do but wait in fear, she grapples through her obscure dreams and memories of the past, sorting which memory belongs to whom: physically harmed, mentally damaged, raped, sexually abused, an unwanted pregnancy... and even the vivid memory of a dangerous dance with death in a last attempt to escape the shambles and horrors of a seemingly unchangeable situation. The twins dive blindly--and much too early--into adulthood. They are soon followed by their younger sister, Emma, all running from a not-so-idyllic past; chasing the happiness they believe they will find, by abandoning their childhoods to be 'grown-up' and start their new lives.

Get the first book in this series!

Worldwide links: USA United Kingdom Canada Germany France Spain Japan Italy Brazil India Mexico

Coming soon: Book 2: "Captured Again"

Get on the mailing list

Don't miss updates on the Let Me Go Series!

Subscribe to author newsletter

Meet the Author

L.L. Akers is originally from the Midwest where she grew up climbing trees, haystacks, and haylofts--escaping into other worlds with a good book. She enjoyed playing cow-pattie hopscotch and outrun-the-bull with her siblings.

She now lives in the South, the silly wife of a serious man, and mother of: one very gifted and fetching male-tween, a chubby beagle that looks astonishingly like a mini-cow, a deranged terrier as well as five Koi fish, a herd of tiny but boastful lizards, and dozens of obnoxiously loud serenading frogs.

After a career in human resources, she now pursues life as a recluse writer; hanging out at home in her PJ's with her iPad, Burt's Bees lip balm and her posse of creatures. Regardless of her self-isolation, she can still be lured outside for brief moments by the scent of freshly mowed grass and a bowl full of cherries.

Twitter: @Akers_ll
Amazon author page:

Visit author website

No comments:

Post a Comment