Thursday, January 16, 2014

Bargain Kindle books! (Thursday Jan 16)

Phone Kitten: A Cozy, Romantic, and Highly Humorous Mystery, by Marika Christian. (Still 0.99?)

Shy, funny Emily -- digging her way out of a financial hole by working as a "phone actress" -- finds herself in the midst of an unsolved murder. This cozy romantic mystery has 200 five-star reviews, and is just 99 cents today.

"Phone Kitten has claws! I am a firm believer in the fun mystery. Emily is a self-proclaimed "chub" - a girl with curves who is used to being invisible to everyone around her.

When her career takes a turn for the unemployed, she joins a phone sex company as "Peyton." Peyton is freckled, wild, and takes no prisoners, and soon Emily's life seems to be turning around: her new mantra of "What Would Peyton Do?" is paying off. 

But when one of her customers ends up murdered, Emily finds herself tangling with some shady characters, running for her life, and maybe - just maybe - there'll be time for a little lovin' from her hottie, assuming she can stay alive, and he doesn't flip out about the day job. Fans of Janet Evanovich and Jennifer Crusie need to grab a copy of "Phone Kitten" and dive in." -- Amazon reviewer

Think "Bridget Jones meets Nancy Drew". Throw in a gig as a phone sex operator, an unexpected hunk of a boyfriend, and a client's murder, and you have all the ingredients for the perfect chick lit romp.

Even bloggers at Trashionista just had to read it: “When I first heard of this book I was intrigued; a phone-sex worker turned sleuth' Sounds like the perfect mix ... A fabulous book.”

Shy, funny, loveable Emily’s a pretty unlikely candidate for a phone sex operator. She’d die if she had to talk dirty face-to-face—especially to her hot cop boyfriend. She sure didn’t set out to do phone sex—she wanted to be a writer. But when her BFF framed her for plagiarism, she got in a tiny financial hole and saw this ad for a “phone actresses”…

Hey, it’s not nearly as bad as it sounds. No pantyhose or pantsuits, no regular hours, you’re your own boss, and lots of people to talk to. Guys, that is. But here’s the odd thing—lots of them want to talk about more than Emily’s imagined attributes; they start to think of her as the best friend they’ll never have to meet. Next thing you know, one of her customers gets killed. What’s a phone kitten to do' Solve the murder herself, of course!

Phone Kitten was a fun debut read with an interesting premise and some great characters – excellent chick lit.” -The Brazen Bookworm

“Marika Christian's debut novel was one of the most fun reads I have had this year. Sweet Emily taking a job as a 'phone actress' has to be one of the funniest things ever.” -Just Jump

A fun, refreshing treat for fans of Jennifer Crusie, Janet Evanovich, and Stephanie Bond, Phone Kitten is your ticket to hours of giggles—so long as you’re not looking for raunch. Because this is so not it!

253 pages, with a 4.3-star rating from 432 reviews.

USA United Kingdom Canada Germany France Spain Japan Italy Brazil Mexico



97 (Rise of the Battle Bred), by V. L. Holt. (Still 0.99?)

Save $3 today on this Kindle Countdown deal!

"Fabulous story concept. The author alternates between the story of the Warlochs and William and Jane's story as she weaves her tale. Early in the story I found myself struggling to read faster because I wanted to know what was going to happen, definitely pulled in quick. Jane and William are easy to like and I was rooting for them. I truly loved Crady's personality; she has a ton of it. Generally the book was clean. There were a few swear words and some adult themes. The Warlochs use women for a "physical release" and a "pleasant diversion." I tend to be super sensitive to the subject and most people wouldn't give it much thought because it was dealt with very smoothly." -- Amazon reviewer

Jane Burrows is the girl next door, well actually, five doors down from the new kid. She’s happy with her life: she’s got One True Friend, a set of wheels, and the best job ever, newspaper delivery girl! She’s not even super annoyed when William McLeod starts following her around like a puppy dog. He’s hot, after all. Except, what’s with the spooky overprotective thing? What’s with his stern opinions on ancient warfare? What’s with his evasive answers to the most simple questions? Just...what’s with William? If Jane’s honest with herself, she wants it to be her!

William’s living on borrowed time. He’s got three lives left before his number is up, and his dad is forcing the issue. No fighting again. Never mind the Lochspawn are hot on their tails. Nevermind they might be incriminated in four grisly murders. Nevermind the girl of his dreams is monster bait. He’s supposed to sit on his hands and watch while his world goes up in Warloch flames? Yeah, no.

329 pages, with a 4.8-star rating from 13 reviews.

USA United Kingdom Canada Germany France Spain Japan Italy Brazil Mexico



The Dead War Series: BOOK 1, by George L. Cook III. (Still 0.99?)

"Great zombie story!! This novel is very realistic and helps you to see the possibilities of how life could be after the Dead return to life. Military training alone isn't enough and politicians are not to be trusted. The people need all the help they can get to survive! Can't wait to read more from this wonderful author!" -- Amazon reviewer


The Dead War Series Book One:

In the year 2053 the dead walked. Mankind was caught off guard at first but within six years mounted a massive military assault on the dead.

One lone soldier must survive the night and fight his way through a city filled with the walking dead. He must do so to deliver a message to Army HQ that could save mankind and he just may be our only hope to win The Dead War.

The Dead War Series!

These are the stories of those that caused The Dead War.
These are the stories of some trying to find a "cure".
These are the stories of some of those men and women that fought back.
These are the stories of those that are just trying to survive the nightmare of the walking dead.
 
George Cook's Dead War Series is a fun time (IF you think fun is apocalypse of slow-style zombies! We do!). -- The Madore Brothers, necropology.com
 
The US Army doesn't run from any enemy, living...or dead!

98 pages, with a 4.0-star rating from 16 reviews.

USA United Kingdom Canada Germany France Spain Japan Italy Brazil Mexico



Hard Luck Hank: Screw the Galaxy, by Steven Campbell. (Still 3.99?)

Sixty 5-star reviews! If you buy (or already have) the printed book, the ebook is only 0.99, through Amazon's new Matchbook program.

"This won't change your life. But it will definitely improve your day. It really was a fun read...like a comic book without pictures. Hank ended up being a pretty lovable character in spite of it all. If you're looking for something that will leave you inspired or a little better off intellectually than when you started, this isn't the book for you. But if you're looking for something fun and entertaining to pass some time, this is a good choice." -- Amazon reviewer

Hank is a thug. He knows he's a thug. He has no problem with that realization. In his view the galaxy has given him a gift: a mutation that allows him to withstand great deals of physical trauma. He puts his abilities to the best use possible and that isn't by being a scientist.

Besides, the space station Belvaille doesn't need scientists. It is not, generally, a thinking person's locale. It is the remotest habitation in the entire Colmarian Confederation. There is literally no reason to be there.

Unless you are a criminal.

Because of its location, Belvaille is populated with nothing but crooks. Every day is a series of power struggles between the crime bosses.

Hank is an intrinsic part of this community as a premier gang negotiator. Not because he is eloquent or brilliant or an expert combatant, but because if you shoot him in the face he keeps on talking.

Hank believes he has it pretty good until a beautiful and mysterious blue woman enters his life with a compelling job offer.

Hank and Belvaille, so long out of public scrutiny, suddenly find themselves at the epicenter of the galaxy with a lot of very unwelcome attention.

334 pages, with a 4.4-star rating from 111 reviews.

USA United Kingdom Canada Germany France Spain Japan Italy Brazil Mexico



"Like" our Facebook page so you never miss a bargain e-book!

Free and Bargain Kindle books, delivered to your inbox:
Subscribe today to our daily e-mail!

(We save you time by curating our selections of bargain books. We filter out books with a less than 4-star rating, or have few reviews. We exclude books that are merely teasers, and generally exclude those that are less than 100 pages in length. Your time is valuable and we strive to find quality for you in your bargain e-books!)

No comments:

Post a Comment