Thursday, January 23, 2014

Discover the Georgie Lee Maxwell mystery series from Michaela Thompson

If you enjoy cozy mysteries, you'll love this series starring the delightfully breezy detective Georgia Lee Maxwell. The first book in the series -- from prolific mystery author Michaela Thompson -- is a steal at just 99 cents today.
Magic Mirror: A Parisian Mystery (Georgia Lee Maxwell #1) (The Georgia Lee Maxwell Series), by Michaela Thompson

"It really takes a lot for me to go five stars, but this one did it. Florida transplant Georgia Lee Maxwell runs to Paris to get away from her no good boyfriend and her crappy job as a society editor. She needs a new start and why not Paris? Before long she finds herself face down on a museum floor during a robbery, in which three gunmen make off with a mirror that once belonged to French seer Nostradamus. Georgia Lee finds herself under the watchful eye of the police -- and if she doesn't find the mirror she could be dead, too!" -- Amazon reviewer

"The debut of detective Georgia Lee Maxwell is an all-around delight … a brisk and witty book full of sharply unexpected events and packed with wonderfully robust characters." -Publisher's Weekly

"(Michaela Thompson has) given us a fresh new heroine in Georgia Lee Maxwell ... She is a delight, a right and funny lady with a breezy narrative voice." -Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine

SACRE BLEU! THEY KILLED A MAN FOR A MIRROR!

Florida transplant Georgia Lee Maxwell doesn't take to Paris at first, despite the fact that she's at least leaving a no-good man and a hated job as a society editor. Now she's a Paris correspondent, thank you very much—a dream come true for any journalist.

There's just a slight down side—she arrives in freezing rain, gets caught in a traffic jam caused by a bomb scare, and hates her apartment; but the real Bonjour is finding herself face down on a museum floor during a robbery. "Killed for a boring story!" she thinks. But as it happens, she isn't the one who dies. Three terrifying masked gunmen shoot the unfortunate security guard.

They could have stolen all the treasures of Monte Cristo's cave, so to speak, but it turns out they've made off with only a mirror. True, it once belonged to the French seer Nostradamus, but it may be the museum's least valuable item.

Does it have some prophetic ability? Does someone know something the gendarmes don't? Here's what Georgia Lee knows: If she finds out first, she's a journalistic hero. If she doesn't, she's dead.

Michaela Thompson's ability to bring alive a locale shines here, and when the locale is Paris, what's not to like? The writing is crisp, the protagonist witty, and the mystery is twisty. A great choice for armchair travelers! Also for fans of Cara Black, Michael Bond, and of course, the great Georges Simenon. Admirers of Hank Phillippi Ryan and the HBO show, THE NEWSROOM, will love the journalistic background.


Get the first book in this series!

Worldwide links: USA United Kingdom Canada Germany France Spain Japan Italy Brazil India Mexico


More books in the Georgie Lee Maxwell mystery series



Meet the Author

I grew up on the Gulf Coast, in the Panhandle area of Northwest Florida. A land of salt marshes, pine forests, barrier islands, and moss-hung oaks, the Panhandle is nothing like the tropical image most people have of Florida. I used this backdrop, and the era of the 1950's, as the setting for Hurricane Season.

In time I moved on to other locales, and used them as settings for other mysteries: The San Francisco Bay Area (Paper Phoenix), France (Magic Mirror, A Temporary Ghost), Venice (Venetian Mask), and India (The Fault Tree). I have written seven mysteries, all of them originally published under the name Mickey Friedman. (I've now switched to Michaela Thompson, my original name, because many people seem to think Mickey Friedman is a man.)

Besides writing mysteries I have worked as a college editor, a reporter and columnist for a San Francisco daily newspaper, and a freelance writer and journalist.

The Florida Panhandle is still a big part of my life. My husband and I have a place on the beach near my home town, and we go there to vegetate every chance we get.

No comments:

Post a Comment