Wednesday, July 24, 2013

Bargain Kindle books! (Wednesday July 24)

Here is today's selection of bargain Kindle books!

Phone Kitten (A Cozy, Romantic, and Highly Humorous Mystery), by Marika Christian. (Still 0.99?)

This chick-lit cozy mystery is highly-praised by its fans. 99 cents today!

"If you are looking for a quirky endearing heroine to spend time with, then Emily is the girl for you. There is a cast of colorful characters and Ms. Christian handles the wonderful world of phone sex - which could be tricky - with humor. Fans of Janet Evanovich will love this book. If you are looking for a light hearted mystery - look no further. I'm looking forward to more Emily in the future." -- Amazon reviewer

PHONE KITTEN is not only a great cozy mystery, it's the perfect chick-lit romp!

Shy, funny, loveable Emily’s a pretty unlikely candidate for a phone sex operator. She’d die if she had to talk dirty face-to-face—especially to her hot cop boyfriend. But oddly enough, she hardly has to talk dirty at all--a lot of her clients just want a new best friend they'll never have to meet. Which is a welcome relief, because she sure didn’t set out to do phone sex—she wanted to be a writer. But when her BFF framed her for plagiarism, she got in a tiny financial hole and saw this ad for “phone actresses”…

Hey, it’s not nearly as bad as it sounds. Actually, the hard part of the job is to keep from laughing. And there are so many up-sides: No pantyhose or pantsuits, no regular hours, you’re your own boss, and lots of people to talk to.. But here’s the odd thing—she ends up doing a lot of listening too.

So when one of her customers gets killed, Emily knows a lot more about it than she should. But she can’t tell the nearest cop, who’s also her own true love, because then he’ll find out about her secret life. What’s a phone kitten to do? Solve the murder herself, of course—because wouldn’t it be a great story for the newspaper that wrongly fired her? It’s her ticket back to her real life—if it doesn’t get her killed.

One part cozy mystery, and one part Jennifer Cruise-type witty romance, Phone Kitten is your ticket to hours of giggles—so long as you’re not looking for raunch. Because this is so not it!

The reviews:
“Phone Kitten was a fun debut read with an interesting premise and some great characters – excellent chick lit.” -The Brazen Bookworm

“Marika Christian's debut novel was one of the most fun reads I have had this year. Sweet Emily taking a job as a "phone actress" has to be one of the funniest things ever..” -Just Jump

WHO WILL LIKE THIS: Fans of Jennifer Crusie, Janet Evanovich, and Stephanie Bond.

253 pages, with a 4.4-star rating from 224 reviews.

USA United Kingdom Canada Germany France Spain Japan Italy Brazil



The Girl Who Swam to Atlantis, by Elle Thornton. (Free!)

Free today, this delightful and moving coming-of-age story is based in the late 50s.

"I love this book! A young girl grows up on a military base in North Carolina in the racially charged 1950s, struggling to prove herself to her father, the General, and to find out what happened to her mother. She makes friends by following her heart, without regard to race or age. . . I should have said this earlier: this book is beautifully written." - Amazon reviewer

"This book is a fantastically powerful and emotional read. It goes to the heart and deals with difficult topics like racism . . . This book made me think, and it made me feel. I highly urge you to read it and fully recommend it." - Amazon reviewer

Nearly everything important in twelve-year-old Gabriella's life that summer of 1957 can be traced to the river. On the North Carolina military base where she lives, she meets the African-American Marine Hawkins by the river's brown-green water. Hawkins, a servant in the kitchen of her father's quarters, becomes her swim coach and a person she can talk with--even about the tragedy of the youth Emmett Till. The fourteen-year-old was lynched two years earlier, his body thrown into Mississippi's Tallahatchie river. But this river, her river, isn't a place of death. Emmett's spirit is alive in its waters. It's a place of magic.

At the river Hawkins helps her find her strength and her place in the world. Emmett helps her find her heart.

Emmett had been murdered for whistling at a white woman. Could her friendship with Hawkins endanger the tough Marine? It doesn't seem possible. Until a sudden storm on the river changes Gabriella's life--forever.

168 pages, with a 4.3-star rating from 60 reviews.

USA United Kingdom Canada Germany France Spain Japan Italy Brazil



In Cold Blonde, by James L. Conway. (Still 0.99?)

"This book will keep you enthralled from page one. It's witty. It's funny. And there are a ton of twists and turns that will keep you as entertained from the opening chapter to the last page." -- Amazon reviewer

Alice was hot. Blonde hair. Green eyes. Great body. And smart. Only one problem, she was a cold-blooded murderer. But Alice wasn’t targeting just anyone. She had a list of men who had to die. Men who deserved to suffer because of what they did to her.

The cops called her the Lady in Red. And two of LAPD’s best homicide cops were trying to stop her, Ryan and his beautiful partner Syd. They were ambitious, talented detectives with a secret -- they were also lovers. But the secrets didn’t stop there. Ryan and Syd also hid deadly secrets from each other.

In Cold Blonde is a fast-paced, sex-fueled thriller packed with captivating characters unexpected plot twists and a 47 million dollar surprise that changes everything.


**Mature Content Warning** Recommended  for 17+ due to language, violence, and sexual content.

338 pages, with a 4.9-star rating from 11 reviews.

USA United Kingdom Canada Germany France Spain Japan Italy Brazil



An Invitation to Hitler, by Bernard Neeson. (Still 2.99?)

"An Invitation to Hitler is a good read and I'm not particularly a WWII tactical military reader. Neeson does a good job of "You Are There" in Churchill's bunker 40 feet under the streets of London. His war room briefs are believable and make me wonder if the same kind of shenanigans go on between Obama and his military people. A very suspenseful build up of intrigue involving the Duke and Duchess of Windsor which supports the rumors I've always heard about her being cozy with the Nazis. Is it possible that MI6 could manipulate the entire country and world into believing in this cabal? The whole world is a stage and we are merely players who strut.... Well done, Bernard. The last chapter....the last sentence...makes me want a sequel. A book that is for an intelligent reader." -- Amazon reviewer

June 1940

Britain stands alone; its army routed in France, and only just rescued from the sands of Dunkirk. Churchill struggles to impose his authority in cabinet. Some believe there is no alternative but to seek a deal with Hitler.

The RAF is weakening; mutinies and peace marches are reported all over the country. There are hints of disloyalty close to the throne. Britain is on the
point of collapse.

A shadowy group makes contact with the Nazis, seeking talks.
 

Who are they? Are there traitors even inside the cabinet?

Who has sent An Invitation to Hitler?

240 pages, with a 5-star rating from 1 reviews.

USA United Kingdom Canada Germany France Spain Japan Italy Brazil



42 Days to Fit, by Brandy Ferguson. (Still 0.99?)

"I participated in 42 Days to Fit. It laid the groundwork for a healthier lifestyle without being overwhelming. The small changes each week were just right for a working mom like me. I could stick with it, and compounding it the next week with the next small change was easy enough. The exercises were also great and I still incorporate them now. In total, I lost 14 lbs and I have kept it off even after the 6 weeks of support and motivation from the other participants. I can't thank you enough. For the first time since I've had children, I am happy with my body and I have confidence again." -- Amazon reviewer

A realistic diet and exercise challenge to help you get fit...and stay fit for life!

122 pages, with a 4.1-star rating from 44 reviews.

USA United Kingdom Canada Germany France Spain Japan Italy Brazil



"Like" our Facebook page so you never miss a bargain e-book!

Free and Bargain Kindle books, delivered to your inbox:
Subscribe today to our daily e-mail!

(We save you time by curating our selections of bargain books. We filter out books with a less than 4-star rating, or have few reviews. We exclude books that are merely teasers, and generally exclude those that are less than 100 pages in length. Your time is valuable and we strive to find quality for you in your bargain e-books!)

No comments:

Post a Comment