Wednesday, December 4, 2013

Bargain Kindle books! (Wednesday Dec 4)

A Season of Secrets, by Anneke Campbell. (Still 0.99?)

"Unexpected delight! Anneke Campbell's book is an unexpected delight. What a funny take on the Virgin birth story, and a moving story about community coming together in spite of themselves. In a gently humorous way, the author is pointing to how we should be treating each other in these difficult times. I like how the tone of this novel is both reverent and irreverent. I like how Mary is a mystery that I keep wanting to solve." -- Amazon reviewer

'Tis the Season for A Thinking Person's Christmas Story.

A delightful holiday treat for fans of The Family Stone and Love, Actually.

Author, educator, midwife, and yoga instructor Anneke Campbell foregoes the expected holiday cheeseball recipe for something more original. Something as imaginative as a Barbara Kingsolver novel but still as festive as mistletoe.

It's mere weeks before Christmas, 2011 when a pregnant teenage virgin named Mary waddles inauspiciously into the little town of Bellingham, Indiana. Juggling a townful of characters, each with his or her own agenda, not a single one selfless or blameless, Campbell makes Bellingham come alive as each is changed by the apparent miracle: Doctor Bob goes fervently in search of a viable medical explanation that sends him waxing poetic about Greek mythology; a precocious young waitress befriends Mary and sets up a support group on Facebook; the local newspaper prints one journalist's eloquent op-ed about the importance of collective social responsibility.

If you want a good cry and a great story about the true meaning of Christmas, we recommend A Christmas Carol. This author’s going for something much more sophisticated and contemporary—yet deliciously irresistible. Not to mention as funny as Sketchy Santas. This is a book about human foibles at Christmas; some characters are doing their best, some are rapscallions, nobody’s a saint, and everybody’s fun to watch.

“At first, I was unsure about whether or not I was going to like this book. I didn't know if it was going to be over-the-top religious or the complete opposite, over-the-top anti-religion. Thankfully, A Season of Secrets is neither.” – Every Free Chance Book Reviews

"Expect the unexpected! ... A story with an intriguing premise, an author with a great witty voice, and characters that are well developed and make a great cast." – Storm Goddess Book Reviews

“I found a lot of humor in this book, and kept thinking what a genius Campbell was for this plot concept.” – Chick Lit Plus

An entertaining and refreshingly thought-provoking read that will make you ponder about the mysteries of miracles.” – Jersey Girl Book Reviews

Suitable for all faiths, including true believers of any sort, but also the apostate, the pagan, the devoutly heathen, those who make a religion of hating Christmas, and those who start Christmas shopping in July.

244 pages, with a 4.2-star rating from 21 reviews.

USA United Kingdom Canada Germany France Spain Japan Italy Brazil Mexico



Then Like The Blind Man: Orbie's Story, by Freddie Owens. (Still 0.99?)

"Then Like the Blind Man is an electrifying porthole to the south of the '50s, where, though inane prejudice may have dominated, kindness and justice also had a place. Orbie's sharecropping grandparents, by defying convention with unnerving grace, become founts of colloquial wisdom whose appeal is impossible to resist, and the Orbie they nurture -- the best version of a boy who may otherwise have been lost -- is someone the reader comes to love." -- Michelle Schingler / ForeWord Book Review

"Every once in awhile, you read a book in which every element fits together so perfectly that you just sit back in awe at the skill of the storyteller. Then Like the Blind Man is one of these books." --The San Francisco Book Review

"In an American coming-of-age novel, the author presents a stunning story with clarity and historical accuracy..." --Publisher's Weekly


If you wanted to destroy something, why would you want to save it too?
 
A storm is brewing in the all-but-forgotten back country of Kentucky. And, for young Orbie Ray, the swirling heavens may just have the power to tear open his family's darkest secrets. Nine-year-old Orbie already has his cross to bear. After the sudden death of his father, his mother Ruby has off and married his father's co-worker and friend Victor, a slick-talking man with a snake tattoo. And, when Orbie crosses paths with the black Choctaw preacher, Moses Mashbone, he learns of a power that could expose and defeat his enemies, but can't be used for revenge. When a storm of unusual magnitude descends Orbie stumbles on a solution to the paradox, one both magical and ordinary. Question is, will it be enough? 


Violence & Magical RealismOrbie renders events from a child's vividly fragmented point of view. His growth in understanding and courage - as he confronts first hand the realities of civil rights violations, domestic and child sexual abuse, religious violence and even murder - can be felt throughout the book.

A feeling of otherworldliness permeates the story, and its symbolism is omnipresent and beautifully handled. Realism becomes magical, as nothing is ever precisely what it seems.

Sex Addiction & Abandonment
Orbie's mother, a susceptible woman, quickly remarries, leaving Orbie and his younger sister at the mercy of Victor, who resolves to leave him at his sharecropping grandparent's place, a dirt farm in Kentucky, while the family sets off for Florida.

With no end to his stay in sight, Orbie settles into routines all but unthinkable weeks before. He forms a strong bond with Willis, the stunningly talented, physically disabled black boy and protege to the uncanny shaman, Moses Mashbone.
 

Boy Meets World
Inevitably, he finds himself drawn into Moses' teachings. As he begins to tap his own mysterious powers, his mother and stepfather return, throwing his world back into chaos. Can he discover the truth about his father's death in time to protect all he holds dear' And can he do it without being damaged by his own hatred and violence?


332 pages, with a 4.2-star rating from 165 reviews.

USA United Kingdom Canada Germany France Spain Japan Italy Brazil Mexico



Fear the Light: Who Murdered Dracula?, by William Massa. (Still 0.99?)

If you buy (or already have) the printed book, this ebook is free, through Amazon's new Matchbook program. Tip: buy the print book as a gift for that horror-loving reader you know, and get the ebook for yourself at the Matchbook price!

"All in all this was an easy read that flew by. The pacing was tight and kept the story interesting up until the last page. A satisfying ending made this a worthy read." - Nikki Howard, Ravenous Reads

"...it is fun to see vampires switch from being predator to prey. The story is essentially ten little Indians" - Taliesin meets the Vampires

"...If you loved and read Agatha Christie's - And Then There Were None/Ten Little Indians then you will love this novel..." - Gadget Girl Reviews" --

WHO MURDERED DRACULA? Many had tried to kill the Count over the centuries. All had failed. Until now...

Eight vampires gather at their maker's castle to solve the mystery of who killed Dracula. But as the sun rises outside the chateau, a voice cries out and another vampire is slain. Trapped, the sun burning bright outside, Dracula's children realize that they have met their match - a formidable killer who plans on picking them off one by one!

As the daylight reigns and their numbers dwindle, a dark suspicion grows - could the killer be hiding in plain sight?

CONTAINS A SPECIAL PREVIEW OF MY UPCOMING BOOK 'GARGOYLE KNIGHT.'

210 pages, with a 4.7-star rating from 26 reviews.

USA United Kingdom Canada Germany France Spain Japan Italy Brazil Mexico



Magic of Impromptu Speaking: Create a Speech That Will Be Remembered for Years in Under 30 Seconds, by Andrii Sedniev. (Still 0.99?)

Save $3 on this guide while it's a Kindle Countdown Deal!

"Andrii Sedniev has done it again! After his best seller on public speaking, his new book teaches all the ins and outs of Impromptu Speaking. All of us have been in situation where we suddenly had to speak about a topic, maybe on a birthday or during a meal in a restaurant. Or maybe even at work in a more formal situation. When "unprepared" speaking in public is difficult for you, Andrii is here to help you once and for all master the skills of Impromptu Speaking. You might think that professionals on television are such good speakers, but really, Andrii shows you that those people are not any different from you or anyone else. What they have is what you get by reading Andrii's new book: assistance and preparation for Impromptu Speaking. If you want to learn how to speak confidently, look prepared and let people recall your speech long after, give Andrii a chance to teach you his proven system that is easy to learn. And after you understand how it works, challenge yourself by going through the 100 Table Topic Questions to practice your new Skill." -- --Jackeline Smith, M.Ed., English Language Arts Teacher

Magic of Impromptu Speaking is a comprehensive, step-by-step system for creating highly effective speeches in under 30 seconds. It is based on research of the most powerful techniques used by winners of impromptu speaking contests, politicians, actors and successful presenters. The book is entertaining to read, has plenty of examples and covers the most effective tools not only from the world of impromptu speaking but also from acting, stand-up comedy, applied psychology and creative thinking.
Once you master the system, you will grow immensely as an impromptu public speaker, become a better storyteller in a circle of friends and be more creative in everyday life. Your audience members will think that what you do on stage after such short preparation is pure magic and will recall some of your speeches many years later.

110 pages, with a 4.6-star rating from 55 reviews.

USA United Kingdom Canada Germany France Spain Japan Italy Brazil Mexico



"Like" our Facebook page so you never miss a bargain e-book!

Free and Bargain Kindle books, delivered to your inbox:
Subscribe today to our daily e-mail!

(We save you time by curating our selections of bargain books. We filter out books with a less than 4-star rating, or have few reviews. We exclude books that are merely teasers, and generally exclude those that are less than 100 pages in length. Your time is valuable and we strive to find quality for you in your bargain e-books!)

No comments:

Post a Comment