Thursday, August 7, 2014

Kindle Daily Deals (August 7, 2014): A thriller, a romance, non-fiction for dog owners, classic sci-fi and a thriller for grades 3-7.



Here's today's Kindle Daily Deal, available for $1.99!

The Survivors Club, by J. Carson Black.

Detective Tess McCrae investigates a grisly crime scene in the ghost town of Credo, Arizona. To an ordinary investigator, the evidence suggests a cartel drug hit. But Tess, with a nearly faultless photographic memory, is far from ordinary, and she sees what others might miss: this is no drug killing. Someone went to gruesome lengths to cover up this crime.

The killer’s trail leads Tess from Tucson to California; from anti-government squatters in the Arizona mountains to the heights of wealthy society, including the rich and powerful DeKoven family, who've dominated Arizona commerce and politics since the 1800s. But as Tess follows the trail of gore and betrayal, perfect and indelible in her memory, she uncovers far more than one man’s murder, and solves much more than one isolated crime.
The Survivors Club is a serpentine, stay-up-all-night thriller from New York Times bestselling author and master storyteller J. Carson Black.

366 pages, with a 4.0-star rating from 130 reviews



Here's today's Daily Romance Deal, available for $1.99!

Gimme Some Sugar (A Pine Mountain Novel), by Kimberly Kincaid.

"A sweet and sexy treat! Don't miss it!" --Bella Andre, New York Times bestselling author

Out of the frying pan. . .and into the fire!

Desperate to escape the spotlight of her failed marriage to a fellow celebrity-chef, Carly di Matisse left New York City for a tiny town in the Blue Ridge Mountains. The restaurant she's running these days may not be chic, but in Pine Mountain she can pretend to be the tough cookie everybody knows and loves. Until she finds herself spending too much time with a way-too-hot contractor whose rugged good looks melt her like butter. . .

Jackson Carter wasn't looking for love. But he's not the kind of man to walk away from a worksite--or from a fiery beauty whose passionate nature provides some irresistible on-the-job benefits. . .

It's the perfect temporary arrangement for two ravenous commitment-phobes--except that Jackson and Carly keep coming back for seconds. . .and thirds. . .and fourths. . .

"Kimberly Kincaid knows how to whip up a delicious love story." --Susan Donovan

"Smart, fun, and heartwarming." –Jill Shalvis





352 pages, with a 4.7-star rating from 76 reviews



Here's today's Daily Non-Fiction Deal, available for $1.99!

Good Old Dog: Expert Advice for Keeping Your Aging Dog Happy, Healthy, and Comfortable, by Faculty of the Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine at Tufts Univer.

Our dogs are living longer than ever thanks to enormous advances in medical treatment and a highly evolved understanding of what they need to thrive. No one knows this better than the faculty of the Cummings Veterinary School at Tufts, who treat more than 8,000 older dogs annually. Their philosophy of caring for aging dogs combines empathy for each individual dog and owner, a comprehensive approach to patient care, cutting-edge science and technology, and a commitment to innovation. Good Old Dog brings their renowned clinic into your living room, arming you with essential advice to see your dog through his golden years.
Featuring
• Nutritional advice—not every senior diet is right for every senior dog
• Emphasis on treating conditions common to older dogs so they live longer
• How to evaluate complicated procedures and decide what’s right for your dog
• The cost of caring for an older dog and how to shoulder the burden
• How to identify cognitive decline and how to manage it
• Advice on creating a healthy and comfortable environment
• How to determine when “it’s time” and how to cope with the loss
• And much more 

Our dogs are living longer than ever thanks to enormous advances in medical treatment and a highly evolved understanding of what they need to thrive. No one knows this better than the faculty of the Cummings Veterinary School at Tufts, who treat more than 8,000 older dogs annually. Their philosophy of caring for aging dogs combines empathy for each individual dog and owner, a comprehensive approach to patient care, cutting-edge science and technology, and a commitment to innovation. Good Old Dog brings their renowned clinic into your living room, arming you with essential advice to see your dog through his golden years.
Featuring
• Nutritional advice—not every senior diet is right for every senior dog
• Emphasis on treating conditions common to older dogs so they live longer
• How to evaluate complicated procedures and decide what’s right for your dog
• The cost of caring for an older dog and how to shoulder the burden
• How to identify cognitive decline and how to manage it
• Advice on creating a healthy and comfortable environment
• How to determine when “it’s time” and how to cope with the loss
• And much more
Common Questions About Aging Dogs Answered in Good Old Dog

Q: Regarding a dog’s age, is it really seven human years for every year lived?
A: Not exactly. For a medium-size dog who weighs between twenty and fifty pounds, yes, that’s about right. For a large dog, one who weighs more than ninety pounds, every year of life is closer to the equivalent of about every eight human years. For a small dog under twenty pounds, each year is the equivalent of about six human years. That’s why small dogs, on average, live longer than large ones. They "use up" fewer years with each year of life.
Q: If I choose a dog food that says "senior" on the label, I’m giving my older dog the nutrition he or she needs, right?
A: Who knows? "Senior" is a marketing term, not a specific nutritional term, so it means whatever the manufacturer wants it to mean. Some "senior" dog foods are high in calories, some are low in calories, and some have a nutrient composition that is not well balanced for all older dogs, with levels of sodium, protein, and other ingredients all over the map. The only way to know if a food is right for your geriatric dog is to make sure there’s a sentence on the package that says the food is appropriate for maintenance, not for growth or gestation and lactation.
Q: If a dog has arthritis, she or he will limp, right?
A: Not necessarily. If the arthritis is in the same spot on both hind legs or both front legs, the dog may waddle or shuffle. That is, the gait will look symmetrical, unlike a limp. But waddling and shuffling are not normal ways of walking, and a dog who is not walking normally should be taken to the vet for an exam.
Q: Why is it that dogs with cancer who are on chemo don’t go bald?
A: It’s rare for a dog on chemo to lose hair because dogs get lower doses of chemotherapy for their size. In people, the aim with chemo is to try to cure the cancer. In dogs, it’s to extend life but not rid the body of the malignancy. Since chemo can be so debilitating, with side effects that include nausea, diarrhea, and infections, and since an older dog with cancer will lose not decades of life but only a few years at most, the veterinary community feels it is not right to put such a dog through a medical regimen that will destroy the quality of life while affording the animal only a few extra months to a couple of years.
Q: Why is it that you never hear of dogs dropping dead of a heart attack?
A: Dogs don’t get heart attacks, generally speaking. They get heart failure, a progressive disease that takes its toll over time. Fortunately, much can be done to forestall the effects of heart failure and grant an affected dog several more years of good-quality life.
Q: My ten-year-old dog doesn’t come when I call him anymore. Is he falling prey to age-related dementia?
A: It’s hard to say. He might just be going deaf. Dementia is a bit tricky to diagnose in dogs because they are unable to communicate in words that they don’t hear or can’t see as well or have other declines that could be mistaken for dementia. Good Old Dog has a checklist with constellations of symptoms that, taken together, indicate when you should take your dog in for a neurological evaluation to see if he has the canine version of Alzheimer’s. New methods to treat the disease are emerging, and the sooner your dog is correctly diagnosed, the better chance you have of stalling any cognitive decline.
Q: A dog will let you know when "it’s time" to put him down, right?
A: Not necessarily. Many conditions in older dogs that look like "this is the end" are very treatable. While we believe that euthanizing a dog who is in constant pain and has no quality of life left is a responsible and loving thing to do, you should never make a choice to euthanize without first taking him to the doctor for a professional workup. We’ve delivered the good news to many dog owners that, despite their fear, the dog’s time has not yet come.


288 pages, with a 4.4-star rating from 70 reviews



Here's today's Daily Science Fiction/Fantasy Deal, available for $1.99!

Moving Mars, by Greg Bear.

Sacrifice, revolution, the promise of freedom. These flood into the life of Casseia Majumdar, daughter of the Binding Multiples. Rebelling against her conservative family, the colonists who occupy Mars, Casseia takes part in the brewing revolution sparked by student protests in the year 2171. Meanwhile, her love life is in a very precarious situation, with her beloved Charles Franklin's seeking to merge his mind with the most advanced artificial mind. MOVING MARS is a science-fiction look at love and war, family and conviction, heart and mind . . . 

In this 1995 Nebula Award-winning novel, a revolution is transforming the formerly passive Earth-colony of Mars. While opposing political factions on Mars battle for the support of colonists, scientists make a staggering scientific breakthrough that at once fuels the conflict and creates a united Mars front, as the technically superior Earth tries to take credit for it. Backed against a wall, colonial leaders are forced to make a monumental decision that changes the future of Mars forever.

515 pages, with a 3.8-star rating from 84 reviews



Here's today's Daily Youth Deal, available for $1.99!

The Copernicus Legacy: The Forbidden Stone, by Tony Abbott.

Bestselling author Tony Abbott's epic new middle grade series, the Copernicus Legacy, begins with The Forbidden Stone, a thrilling adventure packed with puzzles, intrigue, and action. Fans of Rick Riordan and Ridley Pearson will love this first book in an exciting series that takes the reader all over the globe in a race to find pieces of a mysterious hidden past—before it's too late.

Wade, Lily, Darrell, and Becca fly from Texas to Germany for the funeral of an old family friend. But instead of just paying their respects, they wind up on a dangerous, mind-blowing quest to unlock an ancient, guarded secret that could destroy the fate of the world.

Supports the Common Core State Standards

437 pages, with a 4.3-star rating from 65 reviews

Grades 3-7. The second book in the series, not on sale, is shown below.




Happy Reading!

Betsy

No comments:

Post a Comment