Tuesday, April 22, 2014

Free and bargain Kindle books! (Tuesday Apr 22)

Free today!

Rope Enough (The Romney and Marsh Files #1), by Oliver Tidy. (Still free?)

"Entertaining! The story had a good mix of detective work with a little humor thrown in. I found it to be an easy and entertaining read. The characters were believable and the plot was sufficiently twisty to hold my attention, will definitely be looking for more." -- Amazon reviewer

Newly promoted Detective Sergeant Joy Marsh is shipped out to Dover on the Kent coast to work under Detective Inspector Romney... a copper with a reputation as a cantankerous bastard but good at his job.

On her first night as his sergeant a brutal crime in the town starts a chain of events that will test the mettle, the resolve and the detective in both of them.

Cultures clash and dark deeds are done in this the first instalment of the Romney and Marsh Files.

236 pages, with a 4.1-star rating from 35 reviews.

USA United Kingdom Canada Germany France Spain Japan Italy Brazil Mexico



Cadets, by Edward Miller. (Still 0.99?)

"With clever ideas and agile prose, Miller builds a world reminiscent of Star Trek: Ryan is a rebellious young Captain Kirk who knows that "sometimes going by the book [isn't] the best course to take." Amid the pop-culture references to Star Wars and comic books, Miller's believable, motivated characters shine, as Ryan's brashness conflicts with Amanda's search for peaceful solutions. A tightly written, fast-paced prose supernova." -- Kirkus Reviews

On a remote training planet, hotshot Earth Defense Fleet Cadet Ryan Thompson and his peace loving ex-girlfriend Amanda Williamson can't agree on anything. But when news comes of an alien invasion of Earth--the first in human history--they are thrown together on a deadly, unauthorized mission to face an unknown enemy. What they find is beyond their wildest expectations. A discovery that changes everything they thought they knew...about their hostile adversaries--and mankind.

With a trail of riddles and mysteries, epic space battles and journeys to the far corners of Earth, this "Star Trek meets Indiana Jones" Sci-Fi Adventure from Author Edward Miller should appeal to fans of Sci-Fi Space Operas and Young Adult Science Fiction. Edward Miller's debut novel with co-author J.B. Manas, The Kronos Interference, was named to Kirkus reviews best of 2012 and received a Starred Review from Kirkus, which called it "Impressively original" and a "Tour De Force."

339 pages, with a 4.1-star rating from 102 reviews.

USA United Kingdom Canada Germany France Spain Japan Italy Brazil Mexico



Hell Week, by JT Sawyer. (Still 0.99?)

"The reader will not only feel the pain of the gladiators but also be able to laugh with the main characters. Guts, glory, gore and humor at its finest! Most highly recommended. " -- Amazon reviewer

Get ready for a fresh take on the zombie genre when the SEALs fix their crosshairs on the undead and the unsavory. James Enroy, a former Navy SEAL, thinks he is the sole survivor left in L.A. after a bioweapon cripples humanity, turning the infected into pudding-faced zombies. A chance meeting with an old mentor and a young heroine brings the trio into a confrontation with a criminal kingpin who has turned the L.A. Zoo into a gladiator arena, pitting zombies against humans. This short story is the first in a series of post-apocalyptic books. Visit jtsawyer.com for more information.

About the Author: JT Sawyer is the pen name for the author who makes his living teaching survival courses for the military special operations community, Department of Homeland Security, US Marshals, FAA, and other federal agencies throughout the US. He has over 25 years of experience testing long-term survival skills in the desert, mountains, and forest.

101 pages, with a 4.4-star rating from 18 reviews.

USA United Kingdom Canada Germany France Spain Japan Italy Brazil Mexico



Free today!

Finding Home, by Jackie Weger. (Still free?)

"Phoebe is a hotheaded, hard-working redhead who is desperate to provide for her siblings. Desperate to find a better way. She ends up running into (quite literally) a similarly-hardworking, proud widower, and from the very first moment Phoebe and Gage Morgan meet, they argue like crabs tossing around in a boiling pot. Eventually, they quit fighting, because this is a romance, but it's also one with a conclusion I found believable. I'd be amiss if I did not comment on two more things: the writing is as solid as the plot is well-constructed. And the editing is professional, both on a developmental level and a copy edit level. An enthusiastic five stars from me." -- Amazon reviewer

Twenty-four year old Phoebe Hawley is on a quest to find her family a home. On the road with two siblings, twelve year-old Maydean and five year-old Willie-Boy, Phoebe is out of money, out of gas and out of patience. Now the only things she owns in abundance are Hawley backbone and Hawley pride--neither of which she can trade for food or gas.

A collision with Gage Morgan puts Phoebe's mission in even worse jeopardy--until Phoebe discovers Gage Morgan owns the perfect place for the Hawley clan. But! Gage Morgan has a bruised ego, a tight fist on his land and an iron fist on his heart and is the unlikeliest man in the universe to succumb to her schemes. Phoebe wields all of the pride, backbone and country smarts she owns to claim his home, plow his land and pilfer his heart. Nothing works. With time running against her family, she plies one last inducement--her scarce feminine wiles.Will it be enough?

296 pages, with a 4.4-star rating from 67 reviews.

USA United Kingdom Canada Germany France Spain Japan Italy Brazil Mexico



"Like" our Facebook page so you never miss a bargain e-book!

Free and Bargain Kindle books, delivered to your inbox:
Subscribe today to our daily e-mail!

(We save you time by curating our selections of bargain books. We filter out books with a less than 4-star rating, or have few reviews. We exclude books that are merely teasers, and generally exclude those that are less than 100 pages in length. Your time is valuable and we strive to find quality for you in your bargain e-books!)

No comments:

Post a Comment