Monday, July 20, 2015

Free and bargain Kindle books! (Monday July 20)

The Atomic Sea: Volume One of An Epic Fantasy / Science Fiction Series, by Jack Conner. (Still 0.99?)

"The Atomic Sea is not quite like anything I have read before, crossing genres and constantly surprising as the story, and what we know of its world, continually develops and expands... Strongly recommended!" -- Amazon reviewer

Epic adventure in a strange world by the bestselling author of "The War of the Black Tower: An Epic Fantasy Trilogy".

A thousand years ago, the sea began to change, and the change spread.
 

Now the boiling, toxic, lightning-wreathed Atomic Sea has encompassed every ocean on the planet, and the creatures that live in it have become mutated and unnatural. The sea's taint can infect any human who comes in contact with it or with unprocessed seafood, killing them . . . or altering them. No one knows why the sea has become this way or what it portends, only that it's irrevocably changed the world.
Meanwhile, world war has erupted, and the small country of Ghenisa, like many others, is tottering on the brink of collapse under the onslaught of the Empire of Octung. Middle-aged widower Dr. Francis Avery is aboard a military whaling ship far out on the Atomic Sea when a series of murders onboard propels him down a rabbit-hole of danger and terror unlike any other.
Soon he becomes aware of a spy on the ship, but that's just the beginning. With the help of the grizzled whaler Janx and a mysterious woman named Layanna, he will embark on an epic quest to save Ghenisa from Octung and unravel the secrets of the Atomic Sea.
 

This is the opening volume of a unique sci fi adventure / epic fantasy series set in a world unlike any you've ever seen before. Welcome to the world of the Atomic Sea.

The series should appeal to fans of "Dune", "Lord of the Rings", "Star Wars", H. P. Lovecraft, epic science fiction and fantasy, space opera novels like "Hyperion", retro futurism, and the fantasy series of China Mieville and George RR Martin.

468 pages, with a 4.1-star rating from 161 reviews.





Baksheesh (Bribes) (Spies Lie Book 5), by DS Kane. (Still 0.99?)

"As a reader who NEVER picks up a book in the middle of a series, I was a bit nervous that I might not have all the background on the characters to truly enjoy the book. Within a few pages I was hooked. The story itself was incredibly well paced, with multiple subplots expertly woven together. I was also impressed with the effectiveness with which the author blended tradecraft, technology, and tactics without artifice. I enjoyed watching Cassandra and her companions balance emotion, intellect, instinct, and action in ways that felt real rather than contrived." -- Amazon reviewer

A covert operative is ready for a new life outside of international espionage. But her enemies are far from willing to let her go…

She spied for her country, blackmailed her president, and ran from more threats than she can remember. But when the love of her life proposes, covert agent Cassandra Sashakovich is finally ready to settle down. Unfortunately her past is not quite ready to let her walk away.

Old enemies—including a vengeful president—want her dead, and they’re willing to attack her loved ones, including her adopted teenage daughter, if that’s what it takes.

But Cassandra has other pressing problems—a world leader is assassinated and an arm dealer’s revenge threatens to lead to nuclear war. Now Cassandra and her security firm, Swiftshadow must defuse the threats and find a way to outmaneuver those who threaten not only her family, but her country as well.

316 pages, with a 4.0-star rating from 1 reviews.





Free today!

QUICK (A Hunter Kincaid Novel Book 1), by Billy Kring. (Still free?)

"A great read written from experience as previously stated. However, the twists and contrasts in this novel will easily keep your mind entertained as well. I went from a "No Country for Old Men" vibe to "Manhuter" (1986... my first introduction to the first Hannibal Lecter sagas) within two chapters! Characters could have only come from someone who has trudged the turf." -- Amazon reviewer

A sadistic killer roams the shadow world of undocumented aliens, and the first glimpse law enforcement has of him is when tough, dedicated female Border Patrol Agent Hunter Kincaid watches through binoculars as the killer shoots his own partner for being too slow, then crosses the Rio Grande into Mexico.

Two thousand miles away, South Florida Homicide Detectives John Quick and Randall Ishtee investigate the machete murder of an undocumented female, and a slender thread of evidence stretches all the way to West Texas.

John and Randall join forces with Hunter to track down the monster. What they don't know is that the killer is aware, and his focus is now on them, like a Great White as it speeds toward three unsuspecting swimmers.

264 pages, with a 4.5-star rating from 31 reviews.





Free today!

Irreparable Harm (Sasha McCandless Legal Thriller Book 1), by Melissa F. Miller. (Still free?)

"What a riveting page turning read. I loved Sasha's character so is believable. This mystery thriller is one of the best books I have read for 2011. Melissa knows the legal system extremely well and it shows through out the book. The good and the bad people were underestimating Sasha at every turn. It was nice to see for a change. I also like the technology side of it. The old saying, "There is an app for that" is so true. You never know what is going to happen next. All the turns and twists and all the characters are great!" -- Amazon reviewer

Find the entire Sasha McCandless legal thriller series by USA TODAY Bestselling Author Melissa F. Miller here: smarturl.it/sashaseries

After eight long years, attorney Sasha McCandless is about to make partner at a prestigious law firm. All she has to do is keep her head down and her billable hours up.

When a plane operated by her client slams into the side of a mountain, killing everyone aboard, Sasha gears up to defend the inevitable civil lawsuits. She soon realizes the crash was no accident: a developer has created an application that can control a commercial plane's onboard computer from a smartphone.

Sasha joins forces with a federal air marshal, and they race to prevent another airline disaster. But when people close to the matter start turning up dead, Sasha must rely on both her legal skills and her Krav Maga training to stop the madman before he kills her.

457 pages, with a 4.4-star rating from 2,772 reviews.





"Like" our Facebook page so you never miss a bargain e-book!

Free and Bargain Kindle books, delivered to your inbox:
Subscribe today to our daily e-mail!

(We save you time by curating our selections of bargain books. We filter out books with a less than 4-star rating, or have few reviews. We exclude books that are merely teasers, and generally exclude those that are less than 100 pages in length. Your time is valuable and we strive to find quality for you in your bargain e-books!)

No comments:

Post a Comment