Friday, September 5, 2014

Kindle Daily Deals (September 5, 2014): women's lit, a romance, a real life "Top Gun," humorous sci-fi by a master and a fun rhyming kid's book



Here's today's Kindle Daily Deal, available for $1.99!

Up at Butternut Lake: A Novel (The Butternut Lake Trilogy), by Mary McNear.

New York Times and USA Today Bestseller!

In the tradition of Kristin Hannah and Susan Wiggs, Mary McNear introduces readers to the town of Butternut Lake and to the unforgettable people who call it home.

It's summer, and after ten years away, Allie Beckett has returned to her family's cabin beside tranquil Butternut Lake, where as a teenager she spent so many carefree days. She's promised her five-year-old son, Wyatt, they will be happy there. She's promised herself this is the place to begin again after her husband's death in Afghanistan. The cabin holds so many wonderful memories, but from the moment she crosses its threshold Allie is seized with doubts. Has she done the right thing uprooting her little boy from the only home he's ever known?

Allie and her son are embraced by the townsfolk, and her reunions with old acquaintances—her friend Jax, now a young mother of three with one more on the way, and Caroline, the owner of the local coffee shop—are joyous ones. And then there are newcomers like Walker Ford, who mostly keeps to himself—until he takes a shine to Wyatt . . . and to Allie.

Everyone knows that moving forward is never easy, and as the long, lazy days of summer take hold, Allie must learn to unlock the hidden longings of her heart, and to accept that in order to face the future she must also confront—and understand—what has come before.

384 pages, with a 4.4-star rating from 137 reviews



Here's today's Daily Romance Deal, available for $1.99!

Apart at the Seams (A Life From Scratch Novel), by Melissa Ford.

She had Mr. Right all sewn up . . . until Mr. Wonderful came along.

Ethan is smart, funny, kind, gentle, great with Arianna's toddler son, a fantastic lover, and finally ready to settle down to a teaching job in Manhattan after years of nomadic work as a freelance photographer. Plus he's the adoring brother of Arianna's best friend, Rachel.

He's a truly special man, and the time seems right for him to move in to Arianna's apartment. But traces of the old Ethan exist--there was the much better but stodgy job he turned down and the "let's take off for Nepal next year" impulses.

Arianna is on the verge of graduating from a "finisher" at her fashion job--a highly paid seamstress--and is on her way to having her own designs produced. Suddenly her career is the central focus of her life--and into that focus walks Noah, a worldly, funny, sophisticated, and very successful writer for an award-winning television show. Their instant rapport leads to a design opportunity for Arianna and a friendship that slowly confuses her feelings for Ethan

226 pages, with a 4.8-star rating from 16 reviews



Here's today's Daily Non-Fiction Deal, available for $1.99!

TOPGUN Days, by Dave Baranek.

Dave Baranek (callsign "Bio") was one of 850 young men to receive his Wings of Gold in 1980 as a naval flight officer. Four years later, seasoned by intense training and deployments in the tense confrontations of the cold war, he became the only one of that initial group to rise to become an instructor at the navy's elite Fighter Weapons School. As a Topgun instructor, Bio was responsible for teaching the navy's and Marine Corps's best fighter pilots how to be even better. He schooled them in the classroom and then went head-to-head with them in the skies.Then, in August 1985, Bio was assigned to combine his day-to-day flight duties with participation in a Pentagon-blessed project to film action footage for a major Hollywood movie focusing on the lives, loves, heartbreaks, and triumphs of young fighter pilots, titled Top Gun.Bio soon found himself riding in limousines to attend gala premieres, and being singled out by giggling teenagers and awed schoolboys who recognized the name "Topgun" on his T-shirts. The book ends with his reflections on his career as a skilled naval aviator and his enduring love of flight.

368 pages, with a 4.8-star rating from 40 reviews



Here's today's Daily Science Fiction/Fantasy Deal, available for $1.99!

Dimension of Miracles, by Robert Sheckley.

From the very beginning of his career, Robert Sheckley was recognized by fans, reviewers and fellow authors as a master storyteller and the wittiest satirist working in the science fiction field. E-Reads is proud to re-publish his acclaimed body of work, with nearly thirty volumes of full-length fiction and short story collections, all with striking new covers. Rediscover--or discover for the first time--a master of science fiction who, according to the New York Times, was "a precursor to Douglas Adams."

Thomas Carmody wins the Intergalactic Sweepstakes and leaves Earth behind. He ends up following his fast-talking Prize from place to place, seeing talking dinosaurs, a perfect city smothering its residents with motherly love, a giant slightly bored God and much more. The only problem is that Death is chasing closely after him and there seems to be no way to get safely home...

a 4.3-star rating from 19 reviews




Here's today's Daily Youth Deal, available for $1.99!

Cool Dog, School Dog, by Deborah Heiligman.

Tinka is a cool dog, a school dog, a breaking all the rules dog.A hall dog, a ball dog, a crash-into-the-wall dog.

Join Tinka, a dandy, sandy Golden Retriever, as she unexpectedly visits her owner at school and helps his class learn to read. Bright illustrations rendered in acrylic paint add to the excitement in this playful back-to-school story about a boy and his "loves-to-hear-a-book" dog.

The author and illustrator of Cool Dog, School Dog have donated this book to the Worldreader program

32 pages, with a 4.5-star rating from 69 reviews



Happy Reading!

Betsy

No comments:

Post a Comment