Thursday, September 18, 2014

Free and bargain Kindle books! (Thursday Sep 18)

Free today!

Light My Fire (Rock Royalty Book 1), by Christie Ridgway. (Still free?)

"If you are from Southern California and lived during the years of the rock stars in Laurel Canyon-Eagles, Jackson Brown, Linda Ronstadt, you will thoroughly enjoy this book! Loved all the references to that era. Interesting to read about the lives of the children of that era. Cilla and Ren had lonely childhoods but one bright spot-Gwen, the groupie who brings them together. They dance around each other until they realize they have strong feelings for each other. Beautiful love story! Christie Ridgeway has done it again-love all her books!" -- Amazon reviewer

Years ago, Rolling Stone magazine dubbed the nine collective children of the most famous band in the world “Rock Royalty.” Now all grown up, the princes and princesses are coming back to L.A.’s Laurel Canyon to discover if love can be found among the ruins of a childhood steeped in sex, drugs, and rock ‘n’ roll.

One touch will start a fire…
World-weary band tour manager Ren Colson leaves his London business behind for a stay in Southern California, never expecting to wake up beside Cilla Maddox. Cilla Maddox—who in the years since their last meeting has turned sexy as hell. But she deserves more than a man hardened by long nights, dark roads, and too many faceless women.

One night will change her world…
Cilla Maddox not once imagined she’d see the bad boy of her dreams again. But then he’s sharing her air, her home, her bed. Though he claims he has no heart, she wants it to be hers. Can she convince him that the flames that leap between them might signify forever?

228 pages, with a 4.6-star rating from 18 reviews.

USA United Kingdom Canada Germany France Spain Japan Italy Brazil Mexico



Cadets: 2 The Ship of the Gods, by Edward Miller. (Still 2.99?)

"I thoroughly enjoyed the First Cadets book and was happy to see the second book in the series. Cadets 2, The Ship Of The Gods was fast paced, loaded with action and I couldn't put it down. If you read the first book, this is a must read....If you haven't read the first book, I highly recommend both!" -- Amazon reviewer

Six months have passed since United Earth Defense Fleet (UEDF) cadets Ryan Thompson, Amanda Williamson, and their senior class saved earth from destruction at the hands of the Altarrans. It seems like yesterday that they learned startling truths about the strange invaders from Altarra, and undertook the adventure of a lifetime.

As the cadets now prepare for graduation, Amanda is haunted by vivid nightmares of another alien race, this one much more deadly, and with a mission to annihilate all life within our galaxy. Worse, she’s having mysterious blackouts and apparent visits from an ancient entity, who warns that the Karang are coming.

With the help of their former enemies, the Altarrans, Ryan, Amanda and the entire UEDF must hold off the Karang against all odds, while searching for a long-hidden, legendary weapon known as the Ship of the Gods, which may be the only slim hope for Earth’s survival.

239 pages, with a 4.7-star rating from 20 reviews.

USA United Kingdom Canada Germany France Spain Japan Italy Brazil Mexico



Phone Kitten: A Cozy, Romantic, and Highly Humorous Mystery, by Marika Christian. (Still 0.99?)

"I am a firm believer in the fun mystery, and love it when a book makes me humiliate myself by laughing out loud in public places. Marika Christian's "Phone Kitten" is just such a book - so consider yourself warned if you're reading on the bus. Fans of Janet Evanovich and Jennifer Crusie need to grab a copy of "Phone Kitten" and dive in." -- Amazon reviewer

Think "Bridget Jones meets Nancy Drew". Throw in a gig as a phone sex operator, an unexpected hunk of a boyfriend, and a client's murder, and you have all the ingredients for the perfect chick lit romp.

Even bloggers at Trashionista just had to read it: “When I first heard of this book I was intrigued; a phone-sex worker turned sleuth? Sounds like the perfect mix ... A fabulous book.”

Shy, funny, loveable Emily’s a pretty unlikely candidate for a phone sex operator. She’d die if she had to talk dirty face-to-face—especially to her hot cop boyfriend. She sure didn’t set out to do phone sex—she wanted to be a writer. But when her BFF framed her for plagiarism, she got in a tiny financial hole and saw this ad for a “phone actresses”…

Hey, it’s not nearly as bad as it sounds. No pantyhose or pantsuits, no regular hours, you’re your own boss, and lots of people to talk to. Guys, that is. But here’s the odd thing—lots of them want to talk about more than Emily’s imagined attributes; they start to think of her as the best friend they’ll never have to meet. Next thing you know, one of her customers gets killed. What’s a phone kitten to do? Solve the murder herself, of course!

Phone Kitten was a fun debut read with an interesting premise and some great characters – excellent chick lit.” -The Brazen Bookworm

“Marika Christian's debut novel was one of the most fun reads I have had this year. Sweet Emily taking a job as a 'phone actress' has to be one of the funniest things ever.” -Just Jump

A fun, refreshing treat for fans of Jennifer Crusie, Janet Evanovich, and Stephanie Bond, Phone Kitten is your ticket to hours of giggles—so long as you’re not looking for raunch. Because this is so not it!

253 pages, with a 4.3-star rating from 552 reviews.

USA United Kingdom Canada Germany France Spain Japan Italy Brazil Mexico



97 (Rise of the Battle Bred Book 1), by V. L. Holt. (Still 3.49?)

"I really enjoyed Rise of the Battle Bred, it pulled me in and made me want to get to the end of the chapter to see what would happen next. The characters were well thought out and realistic; as the story unfolded I felt I knew them. If you are expecting this book to be yet another story like " Twilight", you are sadly mistaken ! V.L.Holt brings a fresh approach to the Paranormal Genre, and a writing style that kept me turning pages and on the edge of my seat. Battle Bred is an enjoyable , entertaining book and I look forward to Volume 2 of Rise of the Battle Bred and other books by V.L. Holt with great anticipation!" -- Amazon reviewer

Jane Burrows is the girl next door, well actually, five doors down from the new kid. She’s happy with her life: she’s got One True Friend, a set of wheels, and the best job ever, newspaper delivery girl! She’s not even super annoyed when William McLeod starts following her around like a puppy dog. He’s hot, after all. Except, what’s with the spooky overprotective thing? What’s with his stern opinions on ancient warfare? What’s with his evasive answers to the most simple questions? Just...what’s with William? If Jane’s honest with herself, she wants it to be her!

William’s living on borrowed time. He’s got three lives left before his number is up, and his dad is forcing the issue. No fighting again. Never mind the Lochspawn are hot on their tails. Nevermind they might be incriminated in four grisly murders. Nevermind the girl of his dreams is monster bait. He’s supposed to sit on his hands and watch while his world goes up in Warloch flames? Yeah, no.

335 pages, with a 4.8-star rating from 27 reviews.

USA United Kingdom Canada Germany France Spain Japan Italy Brazil Mexico



"Like" our Facebook page so you never miss a bargain e-book!

Free and Bargain Kindle books, delivered to your inbox:
Subscribe today to our daily e-mail!

(We save you time by curating our selections of bargain books. We filter out books with a less than 4-star rating, or have few reviews. We exclude books that are merely teasers, and generally exclude those that are less than 100 pages in length. Your time is valuable and we strive to find quality for you in your bargain e-books!)

No comments:

Post a Comment