Thursday, July 31, 2014

Free and bargain Kindle books! (Thursday Jul 31)

Free today!

Amethyst: A Chase Family Historical Romance (Jewel Trilogy Book 1), by Lauren Royal. (Still free?)

"Captivating historical romance. Fans of Julia Quinn and Tessa Dare will love Lauren Royal!" -- Kira Morgan, author of Seduced by Destiny

"A wonderful read! With a deft pen, Lauren Royal captures all the pageantry, excitement, and color that was Restoration England." -- Kathe Robin, Romantic Times

Regular price $4.99, now FREE!

London, 1666

Amethyst Goldsmith makes dazzling jewelry, but her future isn’t nearly as bright as the pieces she creates. Though custom dictates she wed her father’s apprentice, her heart rebels against the match. In mere days Amy will be condemned to a stifling, loveless marriage, and she sees no way out—until the devastating fire of 1666 sweeps through London, and tragedy lands her in the arms of a dashing nobleman who knows a diamond in the rough when he sees it…

Colin Chase, the Earl of Greystone, has his future all figured out. He’s restoring his crumbling castle and estate to its former glory, and the key to its completion is his rich bride-to-be. But the Great Fire lays waste to his plans, saddling him with trouble—in the form of a lowly shopkeeper’s daughter with whom he’s most inconveniently falling in love...

348 pages, with a 4.5-star rating from 349 reviews.

USA United Kingdom Canada Germany France Spain Japan Italy Brazil Mexico



Fallen Out: Jesse McDermitt Series, The Beginning, by Wayne Stinnett. (Still 0.99?)

Save $2 today in this Kindle Countdown Deal!

"Superb, non-stop action novel! Wayne Stinnett has done a superb job capturing the Marine Corp spirit, a new action figure (Jesse) with the appropriate amounts of sex, violence, action and patriotism. I have just completed reading all four novel, excellent reading." -- Amazon reviewer

When Jesse McDermitt retires from the Marine Corps, he has no idea what he will do for the rest of his life. At 37, his greatest skill is killing people from up to a mile away. He knows there aren’t many job opportunities in the civilian world for that. However, he knows the south Florida waters, is an experienced diver, loves to fish, and knows his way around a boat.

A waitress in a waterfront restaurant in north Key Largo gives him an idea and he runs with it. An old friend helps get him set up as a charter fishing and dive boat Captain and a new friend helps him buy just the right boat.

Danger lurks in the sleepy little town of Marathon, in the middle of the Florida Keys, as well as in the swamps of the Everglades. But danger doesn’t expect to run into a man like Jesse, who will not only respond swiftly, but with a vengeance unexpected.

153 pages, with a 4.7-star rating from 51 reviews.

USA United Kingdom Canada Germany France Spain Japan Italy Brazil Mexico



Cash Chronicles: The Book o' Samson, by James L. Monticone. (Still 0.99?)

"Even though there is a lot of originality in this novel, which puts me in agreement with many of the other reviewers, I'll still go ahead and make the pigeonhole comparison of saying this is Steampunk meets X-Men. Ok, that out of the way, two important things come to mind about "Cash Chronicles" - one is that the author James L Monticone has every business writing westerns, and the other is that with the devices he's come up with the 19th century is the perfect time for this story. Bravo." -- Amazon reviewer

It's the 1880's, and the West is riddled with Mutations, some who wield powers beyond those of Regular folks, others with fearsome but crippling deformities. Samson Emmanuel "Sammy" Cash is a Mutation with a shady past. He can make rings of fire and shoot flaming bullets, and he's on the hunt for anyone who dares to persecute his people. Don't let the attitude fool you, though; he's a momma's boy at heart and he falls in love just a little too easily.

He's up against the forbidding Marshal Luther, who believes Mutants to be children of the Devil and will stop at nothing to eradicate them.

On his journey he experiences love and betrayal, and travels a mystical realm in his quest to save his people, and he learns as much about himself as he does about their origins.

206 pages, with a 5.0-star rating from 27 reviews.

USA United Kingdom Canada Germany France Spain Japan Italy Brazil Mexico



6 Minutes Wrestling With Life, by JohnA Passaro. (Still 0.99?)

"Pure inspiration! You do not have to be a wrestling fan to enjoy this book. You will laugh, you will cry, but most of all you will be inspired by the lengths this family went through in order to keep normalcy in their lives when faced with a life altering event." -- Amazon reviewer

A riveting, emotional story of one wrestling family's refusal to give up, to be able to endure tremendous emotional pain and to keep moving forward toward achieving their ultimate goal:

To care for and to cure their daughter Jessica, who as a normal 18 year old college student has suddenly been placed in a medically induced coma, and to continue to live and love life.

Without dying inside.

One, without the other is just unacceptable.

JohnA must fight to keep living in order to keep his daughter from dying.

In every loss there is a lesson that you need to learn, and one by one when you learn the lessons they will all come together to make you a man.

Twenty-six years ago, JohnA's goal and mission in life was to win a New York State Wrestling Championship.

He committed himself to a lifestyle, made the sacrifices, put in the time, starved himself and even shaved his head; he had the hunger, the desire and the determination.

But he came up short.

For many years it seemed like he did not get a fair exchange for his total dedication to the sport.

That the trade off of what he gave and what he got in return to the sport of wrestling was way out of whack.

Until he had extreme adversity in his life.

The reward that you seek, may not be the reward that you receive...

And slowly but surely, JohnA started to realize how much the sport of wrestling actually gave back to him.

Much more than he ever knew.

When life throws you to your back, you need to know how not to get pinned, to get off of your back and pick yourself up in order to win.

The sport of wrestling provided JohnA with a much greater reward than the one that he sought - To stand on a podium for a few seconds - It provided him with a way to live life.

A belief system that he would use to help him win his ultimate battle in his life - to save his daughter and continue to love life.

A champion is not someone who won his last match of the season, a champion is the person who gives his all in attempting to do so.

What would you do if you were faced with making a choice in life between caring for your child or living and loving life?

I hope you would do what JohnA did - and choose both.

243 pages, with a 4.9-star rating from 85 reviews.

USA United Kingdom Canada Germany France Spain Japan Italy Brazil Mexico



"Like" our Facebook page so you never miss a bargain e-book!

Free and Bargain Kindle books, delivered to your inbox:
Subscribe today to our daily e-mail!

(We save you time by curating our selections of bargain books. We filter out books with a less than 4-star rating, or have few reviews. We exclude books that are merely teasers, and generally exclude those that are less than 100 pages in length. Your time is valuable and we strive to find quality for you in your bargain e-books!)

1 comment: