Friday, June 6, 2014

Free and bargain Kindle books! (Friday June 6)

Free today!

The Hanover Square Affair (Captain Lacey Regency Mysteries Book 1), by Ashley Gardner. (Still free?)

"(Top Pick!) With her vivid depiction of the era, Gardner brings her novel to life, from the streets inhabited by the destitute to the mansions of the wealthy." -- RT BookReviews

In the tradition of Anne Perry, Ms. Gardner's debut delivers an emotional and compelling historical mystery." -- Suan Wilson, The Best Reviews

London, 1816

Cavalry captain Gabriel Lacey returns to Regency London from the Napoleonic wars, burned out, fighting melancholia, his career ended. His interest is piqued when he learns of a missing girl, possibly kidnapped by a prominent member of Parliament. Lacey's search for the girl leads to the discovery of murder, corruption, and dealings with a leader of the underworld. He deals with his own disorientation transitioning from a soldier's life to the civilian world at the same time, redefining his role with his former commanding officer making new friends--from the top of society to the street girls of Covent Garden.
 

Book 1 of the Captain Lacey Regency Mysteries.

319 pages, with a 4.1-star rating from 89 reviews.

USA United Kingdom Canada Germany France Spain Japan Italy Brazil Mexico



The Cut-Out, by Jon King. (Still 0.99?)

Save on today's Kindle Countdown Deal!

"Breathtaking, compelling, intensely personal throughout - and terrifyingly true. The Cut-Out is probably the most important spy novel I've ever read." -- Richard Collins, Onside Review

"This really is a remarkable story, brilliantly told. For the first time I can now understand exactly how and why Princess Diana could have been murdered." -- Amazon UK reviewer

He said he was a retired Special Forces Green Beret, a CIA runner, so I knew the information he had was potentially explosive. But even so, I never imagined he would tell me what he did: that someone of global renown, “within days from now”, would be assassinated, and that the hit would be made to look like an “accident”. Why tell me? A low-key conspiracy journalist? I didn’t know. And quite frankly, I didn’t believe him, either—until a week later, when Princess Diana was killed in a car crash, an “accident”. That's when the nightmare began. Based on a true story.

330 pages, with a 4.5-star rating from 43 reviews.

USA United Kingdom Canada Germany France Spain Japan Italy Brazil Mexico



Cadets, by Edward Miller. (Still 2.99?)

"The book provides well-rounded characters that learn to work together and solve problems practically... even the aliens aren't blank evil forces bent on destroying all life on other planets; they feel that they have a legitimate grievance. [Cadets is] enjoyable, fun, and full of adventure. This one really shouldn't be passed over." -- Impact Online

On a remote training planet, hotshot Earth Defense Fleet Cadet Ryan Thompson and his peace loving ex-girlfriend Amanda Williamson can't agree on anything. But when news comes of an alien invasion of Earth--the first in human history--they are thrown together on a deadly, unauthorized mission to face an unknown enemy. What they find is beyond their wildest expectations. A discovery that changes everything they thought they knew...about their hostile adversaries--and mankind.

With a trail of riddles and mysteries, epic space battles and journeys to the far corners of Earth, this "Star Trek meets Indiana Jones" Sci-Fi Adventure from Author Edward Miller should appeal to fans of Sci-Fi Space Operas and Young Adult Science Fiction. Edward Miller's debut novel with co-author J.B. Manas, The Kronos Interference, was named to Kirkus reviews best of 2012 and received a Starred Review from Kirkus, which called it "Impressively original" and a "Tour De Force."

339 pages, with a 4.1-star rating from 102 reviews.

USA United Kingdom Canada Germany France Spain Japan Italy Brazil Mexico



Chinese Girl in the Ghetto, by Ying Ma. (Still 0.99?)

"Chinese Girl in the Ghetto shattered my preconceptions about life in inner city America. In trying to make sense of the senseless violence she witnessed in Oakland, as well as the challenges her family underwent while living under an autocratic regime, Ying Ma tells a tale that is much more than a memoir. On its surface, the book offers a poignant story about one family's cross-cultural experience. But at a deeper level, it is a fascinating anecdotal account of the the unintended results of government planning in two very different societies. Sometimes funny, often tragic, but always brutally honest, Chinese Girl in the Ghetto is a gripping read that challenges us to question what freedom really means." -- Amazon reviewer

As China opens itself to the world and undertakes historic economic reforms, a little girl in the southern city of Guangzhou immerses herself in a world of fantasy and foreign influences while grappling with the mundane vagaries of Communist rule. She happily immigrates to Oakland, California, expecting her new life to be far better in all ways than life in China. Instead, she discovers crumbling schools, unsafe streets, and racist people. In the land of the free, she comes of age amid the dysfunction of a city’s brokenness and learns to hate in the shadows of urban decay. This is the incredible story of her journey from China to an American ghetto, and how she prevailed.

--------------------------

“Direct and unvarnished, this book describes the endless possibilities of a free society that allows its citizens to chart their own destiny. Ying Ma takes her readers to dark corners where poverty, crime, and racism reign, all the while reminding us that even amid a sea of hate, individuals can choose to believe in kindness, decency, personal responsibility, and racial equality.”
-- Ward Connerly, Founder and President, American Civil Rights Institute, and author, Creating Equal: My Fight Against Race Preferences

"A beautiful account of a young girl’s encounter with the insidiousness of authoritarianism in China and the tragedies of inner-city America. Ying Ma boldly details some of the worst imperfections of American society, all the while showing, with her own example, why freedom is worth choosing."
-- Xiao Qiang, Adjunct Professor, University of California at Berkeley, and Founder and Editor-in-Chief, China Digital Times

176 pages, with a 4.2-star rating from 92 reviews.

USA United Kingdom Canada Germany France Spain Japan Italy Brazil Mexico



"Like" our Facebook page so you never miss a bargain e-book!

Free and Bargain Kindle books, delivered to your inbox:
Subscribe today to our daily e-mail!

(We save you time by curating our selections of bargain books. We filter out books with a less than 4-star rating, or have few reviews. We exclude books that are merely teasers, and generally exclude those that are less than 100 pages in length. Your time is valuable and we strive to find quality for you in your bargain e-books!)

No comments:

Post a Comment