Monday, June 1, 2015

Free and bargain Kindle books! (Monday June 1)

The Never Hero (Chronicles of Jonathan Tibbs Book 1), by T. Ellery Hodges. (Still 0.99?)

Save today with this Kindle Countdown Deal!

"This is definitely a new creative series for fans of Science Fiction, Superhero, and Alien Invasion. An imaginative amalgamation of genres!" -- SF Book Reviewer

At the gates between worlds...
In a war outside of time...
He fights for us.

Reclusive college student Jonathan Tibbs wakes in a pool of blood, not a scratch on him. His life is about to undergo a massive shift. A violent and merciless otherworldly enemy unleashes slaughter in the streets, calling out in a language only he understands.

And it is seeking its challenger.

In order to defeat the threat, Jonathan must become a temporal weapon... while remaining completely anonymous. Unfortunately, harnessing off-world powers has its own special challenges... 


The Never Hero is the first installment in The Chronicles of Jonathan Tibbs -- a mind-bending, genre crossing, action-adventure trilogy.

429 pages, with a 4.5-star rating from 75 reviews.





Where the Broken Lie, by Derek Rempfer. (Still 2.99?)

"Gripping. A beautiful walk through the Willow Grove and Gliddens of my own childhood. A twisting, turning story that had me making mental u-turns until the very end. A beautifully written story of family endurance through love and loss." -- Amazon reviewer

"Whether you're from Illinois or Idaho or wherever, I'm guessing you'll recall the whispered secrets of your hometown—and see how Tucker handles the truth of who killed his first love. I think you'll become as engrossed with the story as I did."
—Retired LA Times book critic David Kinchen


Who killed Katie Cooper?

When Tucker returns to his hometown of Willow Grove to grieve the death of his infant son, memories of the murder of Katie, his childhood sweetheart, are ignited. In spite of her death being blamed on a mentally challenged drifter known as Slim Jim, Tucker wonders if the real killer is still out there. With new clues arriving through anonymous letters left at the graveyard, Tucker is certain that Katie's death is truly unsolved. While coming to terms with the loss of his son, Tucker also seeks truth. But the real killer may be out there, willing to kill again to protect a dark secret.

Where The Broken Lie shines a spotlight on small-town secrets, faith, fear, love and loss in this enigmatic journey into the scarred hearts left behind.

182 pages, with a 4.8-star rating from 45 reviews.





Free today!

Dead Sober: A New York Mystery; Bruce Kohler #1 (Bruce Kohler Series), by Elizabeth Zelvin. (Still free?)

"Entertaining.... [gives] readers a view of the recovery process as they turn the pages to a good surprise ending." -- Booklist

Formerly titled DEATH WILL GET YOU SOBER, this is the FIRST book in the Bruce Kohler mystery series by Agatha- and Derringer- Award nominee Elizabeth Zelvin.

"A hell of a job ... Great characters and a wonderful voice.” -Crimespree Magazine

“Zelvin has managed to capture the reality of alcoholism and detox, with its black humor and tragedy. Her pictures of AA meetings are very realistic. Death Will Get You Sober will strike home with anyone familiar with alcoholism or the addictions field." -The AA Blog

SOBRIETY’S NOT FOR SISSIES. ESPECIALLY WHEN THE PHRASE “DEAD DRUNK” BECOMES LITERAL.

On Christmas Day, Bruce Kohler wakes up in detox on the Bowery in New York City. He realizes it’s time to change his life, but how can he stay sober without dying of boredom? Then homeless alcoholics begin to turn up dead, and one of these is Bruce’s friend Godfrey, a cynical aristocrat with a trust fund and some secrets.

Two old friends give Bruce a second chance and agree to help him with his investigation: his best friend, Jimmy, a computer genius and history buff who’s been in AA for years, and Jimmy’s girl friend Barbara, a counselor who sometimes crosses the line between helping and codependency.

Pretty soon, the suspects are piling up. Along with the laughs. But, witty as she is, Zelvin never loses her compassion for the painful process of recovery.

272 pages, with a 3.9-star rating from 340 reviews.





Free today!

The First Faux Pas: A Lora Weaver Mystery, by Katy Leen. (Still free?)

"Seriously funny. I just couldn't put this down! Lora Weaver is a girl-next-door turned wily detective. Sweet, smart and stubborn all in one petite vegetarian body. What a great debut for a new mystery series!" -- Amazon reviewer

When Lora Weaver moves from New York to Montreal, she expects to find a touch of Paris in North America—cobblestone streets, sidewalk caf├ęs, fabulous shopping, and a little joie de vivre. Not dangerous liaisons. But, when she takes a job at a PI agency owned by a French brother and sister team, her life takes on more twists and turns than a Cirque du Soleil performance. Her latest brush with danger kicks off the case of Piedro “Puddles” Bellinni—a deadbeat dad whose disappearance is linked to a dying girl, a socialite about to inherit a fortune, and a would-be thug whose ego ends up nearly as dented as his car. Amid stalkings, shootouts, and kidnappings, Lora must also survive an unexpected houseguest—a flirty old friend of her live-in boyfriend Adam.

With a cast of characters that includes Camille Caron—a French PI with sharp boots, an even sharper tongue, and whose confidence and poise come from knowing how to drop a man twice her size—and her brother Laurent, an ex-cop and hockey hottie, The First Faux Pas is more caper-style romp than whodunit mystery.

300 pages, with a 4.3-star rating from 26 reviews.





"Like" our Facebook page so you never miss a bargain e-book!

Free and Bargain Kindle books, delivered to your inbox:
Subscribe today to our daily e-mail!

(We save you time by curating our selections of bargain books. We filter out books with a less than 4-star rating, or have few reviews. We exclude books that are merely teasers, and generally exclude those that are less than 100 pages in length. Your time is valuable and we strive to find quality for you in your bargain e-books!)

No comments:

Post a Comment